Faculty

The LSU Department of Geography and Anthropology has consistently been ranked as a top doctoral geography program in the country and our faculty have made distinguished contributions at all levels of academic life. Eleven faculty members have held titled professorships including four Boyd Professors – LSU’s most prestigious designation – and two Alumni Professors. Five distinguished professorships are currently occupied by faculty members and several department faculty have served in numerous positions of leadership within the disciplines of geography and anthropology.

Chair & James J. Parsons Endowed Professor

Joyce Jackson

Joyce Marie Jackson
Chair & James J. Parsons
Endowed Professor
jjackso@lsu.edu

 
 
 
 

Current Faculty

John Anderson

John M. Anderson
Associate Librarian
janders@lsu.edu

Juliet Brophy

Juliet K. Brophy
Associate Professor (Undergraduate Advisor - Anthropology)
jbrophy@lsu.edu

Vincent Brown

Vincent Brown
Assistant Professor - Research
vbrow31@lsu.edu

David Chicoine

David Chicoine
W. G. Haag Professor
of Archaeology
dchico@lsu.edu

 

Helena Fietz's Photo

Helena Fietz
Assistant Professor
helenafietz@lsu.edu

Dr. Sarah Franzen Photo

Sarah Franzen
Assistant Professor
sfranzen@lsu.edu

 

Dr. Huanping Huang Photo

Huanping Huang
Assistant Professor
hhuang@lsu.edu

Dr. Joyce Jackson Photo

Joyce Marie Jackson
James J. Parsons Endowed Professor
jjackso@lsu.edu

Dr. Barry Keim Photo

Barry D. Keim
Richard J. Russell Professor
(DSM Advisor)
keim@lsu.edu

Dr. Kory Konsoer Photo

Kory Konsoer
Associate Professor
kkonsoer@lsu.edu

 

Dr. Michael Leitner Photo

Michael Leitner
Carl O. Sauer Professor
mleitne@lsu.edu

Dr. Ginesse Listi Photo

Ginesse A. Listi
Associate Research Professor
Director, FACES Lab
glisti1@lsu.edu

Dr. Heather McKillop Photo

Heather McKillop
Thomas and Lillian Landrum
Alumni Professor
hmckill@lsu.edu

 

Dr. Sophie Moore Photo

Sophie Moore
Assistant Professor
smoore2@lsu.edu

Dr. Steven Namikas

Steven Namikas
Associate Professor
(Undergraduate Advisor - Geography)
snamik1@lsu.edu

Dr. Helen A. Regis Photo

Helen A. Regis
Associate Professor
hregis1@lsu.edu

Dr. Andrew Sluyter Photo

Andrew Sluyter
Doris Z. Stone Latin American Studies Distinguished Professor
asluyter@lsu.edu

 

Dr. Robert Tague Photo

Robert Tague
Earleene Nolan Sanders
Alumni Professor
rtague@lsu.edu

Dr. Jill Trepanier Photo

Jill Trepanier
Associate Professor
(Graduate Advisor)
jtrepa3@lsu.edu

Dr. Fahui Wang Photo

Fahui Wang
Cyril & Tutta Vetter Alumni Professor
Associate Dean, the Graduate School
fwang@lsu.edu

Dr. Lei Wang Photo

Lei Wang
Professor (GIS Advisor)
leiwang@lsu.edu

Dr. Teresa Wilson Photo

Teresa V. Wilson
Assistant Professor - Research
tvwilson@lsu.edu

 
 
 
 

Faculty Emeriti

Jay Edwards

Jay D. Edwards
Professor Emeritus
gaedwa@lsu.edu

Anthony J. Lewis

Anthony J. Lewis
Professor Emeritus
galewi@lsu.edu

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Associated and Adjunct Faculty

Dr. DeWitt Braud Jr.

DeWitt Braud Jr.
Director, Academic Area, Coastal Studies Institute
spatial analysis and GIS modeling, environmental remote sensing and image processing

Lynee Carter

Lynne M. Carter
Adjunct Professor

Kerry Chance

Kerry Chance
Adjunct Assistant Professor

Diana Greenlee

Diana Greenlee
Adjunct Professor

 

Helmer

Matthew Helmer
Adjunct Professor

Hemmerling

Scott A. Hemmerling
Adjunct Assistant Professor

Joon

Joon Heo
Adjunct Professor

McGimpsey

Charles R. “Chip” McGimsey
State Archaeologist Division of Archaeology 
Adjunct

 

Rahder

Micha Rahder
Adjunct Professor

Mark Rees

Mark Rees
Adjunct Professor

Ristroph

E. Barrett Ristroph
Adjunct Professor