People

Photo Name Contact Research Areas

Paula Arai

Paula Arai
Professor 

parai@lsu.edu
101 Coates
225-578-2274

Asian Religions
Delbert Burkett Delbert Burkett
Professor
dburket@lsu.edu
123 Coates
225-578-2389
Origins of Christianity
Lauren H Griffin

Lauren Horn Griffin

Assistant Professor 

lhgriffin@lsu.edu
122 Coates
225-578-2221

 

Religion and Politics
Michael Pasquier Michael Pasquier
Professor

mpasquier@lsu.edu
210A Coates
225-578-2271
American Religious History 
Maria Rethelyi Maria Rethelyi
Assistant Professor
mrethelyi@lsu.edu
112 Coates

Judaism
 Kenny Paul Smith Kenny Paul Smith
Senior Instructor

kennysmith@lsu.edu
121 Coates
225-578-3939

Magic, Religion, Paranormal Phenomena, and American Culture 
Bradley K. Storin Bradley K. Storin
Associate Professor
Religious Studies Section Head and Undergraduate Advisor
bstorin@lsu.edu
113 Coates
225-578-2277
Early Christianity
Madhuri M. Yadlapati Madhuri M. Yadlapati
Instructor
myadlapa@lsu.edu
105 Coates

 Philosophy of Religion
Lisa Munson

Lisa Munson

Assistant to the Chair

lmunson@lsu.edu
102 Coates Hall
225-578-2188

 

 

 

Kimberly Fritz

Coordinator of Office Operations

kroser@lsu.edu
102 Coates Hall
225-578-2220

 

Retired Faculty

Photo Name Research Areas Contact Information
Stuart Irvine

Stuart Irvine

Retired Associate Professor

Hebrew Bible sirvine@lsu.edu
115 Coates
225-578-6528
Charles Isbell Charles Isbell
Retired Associate Professor

Jewish Studies
 

cisbel1@lsu.edu

In Remembrance

Photo Name Research Areas Notes
John Whittaker

John Whittaker

Professor Emeritus

Philosophy of Religion

The Department regrets to announce that John H. Whittaker, professor emeritus of Philosophy and Religious Studies, passed away on July 26, 2019. During his twenty-eight
years at LSU, Prof. Whittaker served as director of the Religious Studies Program (1980-1994) and as chair of the Department (2003-2006). He was an outstanding scholar in the philosophy of religion and a beloved teacher of religion courses.