People

Photo Name Contact Research Areas

Paula Arai

Paula Arai
Professor 

parai@lsu.edu
101 Coates
225-578-2274

Asian Religions
Delbert Burkett Delbert Burkett
Professor
dburket@lsu.edu
123 Coates
225-578-2389
Origins of Christianity
Stephen C. Finley Stephen C. Finley
Associate Professor
scfinley@lsu.edu
231 Coates
225-578-7023
African American Religions
Charles Isbell Charles Isbell
Associate Professor
cisbel1@lsu.edu
107 Coates
225-578-2273
Jewish Studies
Michael Pasquier Michael Pasquier
Professor
Department Chair
mpasquier@lsu.edu
210A Coates
225-578-2271
American Religious History 
Maria Rethelyi Maria Rethelyi
Assistant Professor
mrethelyi@lsu.edu
112 Coates

Judaism
 Kenny Paul Smith Kenny Paul Smith
Senior Instructor

kennysmith@lsu.edu
121 Coates
225-578-3939

Religion in America; New Religious Movements; Critical Theory; Magic, Religion, and American Culture
Bradley K. Storin Bradley K. Storin
Associate Professor
Religious Studies Section Head and Undergraduate Advisor
bstorin@lsu.edu
210 Coates
225-578-6311
Early Christianity
Madhuri M. Yadlapati Madhuri M. Yadlapati
Instructor
myadlapa@lsu.edu
105 Coates

 Philosophy of Religion
Margaret Toups

Margaret Toups

Administrative Assistant

to the Department Chair

mtoups2@lsu.edu

102 Coates Hall

225-578-2188

 
dieckman

Lisa Munson

Coordinator of

Academic Area 1

lmunson@lsu.edu

102 Coates Hall

225-578-2220

 

 

Retired Faculty

Photo Name Research Areas Contact Information
Stuart Irvine

Stuart Irvine

Retired Associate Professor

Hebrew Bible sirvine@lsu.edu
115 Coates
225-578-6528

 

In Remembrance

Photo Name Research Areas Notes
John Whittaker

John Whittaker

Professor Emeritus

Philosophy of Religion

The Department regrets to announce that John H. Whittaker, professor emeritus of Philosophy and Religious Studies, passed away on July 26, 2019. During his twenty-eight
years at LSU, Prof. Whittaker served as director of the Religious Studies Program (1980-1994) and as chair of the Department (2003-2006). He was an outstanding scholar in the philosophy of religion and a beloved teacher of religion courses.