Faculty Accolades

Promotion & Tenure

Within LSU's mission is the charge to employ faculty who are excellent teacher-scholars, competitive in research and creative activities and contribute to a world-class knowledge base that is transferable to educational, professional, cultural and economic enterprises. Each year, LSU hosts a celebration honoring those faculty members who have received promotion and tenure. View a complete listing of awards.

University Faculty Awards

The Office of Academic Affairs administers several faculty awards throughout the year. View a complete listing of University Faculty Awards. Special thanks go to the LSU Alumni Association, the LSU Foundation, and the Tiger Athletic Foundation for their continued support.

Distinguished Professors

LSU Professors have the distinction of being recognized for their contributions to the university through teaching, research, and/or service. Several faculty have earned the prestigious title of being an LSU Boyd Professor. This professorship is named in honor of brothers David F. and Thomas D. Boyd, presidents of LSU in its formative years. The Boyd Professorship, the highest professorial rank awarded by the university, is given only to professors who have attained national or international distinction for outstanding teaching, research, or other creative achievement. In addition, many of our faculty hold honorific titles, including professorships and chairs. View a complete list of distinguished professors.

Tiger Athletic Foundation Undergraduate Teaching Award

The Tiger Athletic Foundation Undergraduate Teaching Award recognizes excellence in undergraduate instruction. The recipients below were selected by their respective colleges. Each recipient receives a $2,000 honorarium. View a complete list of TAF Award recipients

Faculty Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Mentoring Awards

Each year the university recognizes and rewards the outstanding work of its faculty. The Office of Academic Affairs, upon the recommendation of the Faculty Recruiting & Retention subcommittee of the Diversity Roadmap, is pleased to announce a call for nominations for two Faculty Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Mentoring awards. These two $2,500 cash awards will recognize faculty who are making outstanding contributions to the mentoring activities of faculty, staff and/or students from underrepresented groups. View the complete Call for Nominations PDF here. 

Phi Kappa Phi Honors Society Outstanding Instructor Award and Non-Tenured Faculty Awards

The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi Louisiana State University Chapter Award for Outstanding Instructor is presented to an exemplary educator at the rank of instructor at Louisiana State University.  The Non-Tenured Faculty Award honors the university's brightest young scholars and artists. These awards are co-sponsored by the LSU Alumni Association. View the nomination packet for the Outstanding Instructor and the Non-Tenured Faculty award here. ​

SEC Academic Leadership Development Program (ALDP)

The SEC Academic Leadership Development Program vision is to introduce faculty and early career administrators to the broad landscape of university administration in order to enhance their understanding of the challenges and complexities of academic leadership. Each year, four faculty members in leadership or administrator roles are selected as ALDP Fellows and participate in a year-long fellowship. 

A list of previous LSU SEC ALDP fellows can be found here.